Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee consists of seven members. Membership includes a member of the Board of Health, the Recycling Coordinator, and five citizens, one from each trash and recycling route, to be appointed by the Board of Health with recommendations from the Town Council. A Board of Health member serves as Chairperson of the Committee. The Committee produces a periodic progress report for the Board of Health, Town Council, and Town Manager.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Sustainability Committee is to recommend programs to the Board of Health to help increase residential and business recycling, reduce residential waste and make Southbridge a more sustainable community by implementing the 3 R's: reduce, reuse, recycle.

Once approved, committee members will work with the Heath Director through the Board of Health to implement programs according to the mission of the committee. Participation is open to all members of the public.


The goal of the Sustainability Committee is to make Southbridge a leader in the recycling community.

If you are interested in joining the Sustainability Committee, please email the Sustainability Committee a letter of interest with your name, address, email address, and phone number. You can also mail a letter with the same information to:

Inspection Services Department
41 Elm Street
Southbridge, MA 01550