Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission usually meets on the first and third Thursday of the month at 6:30 P.M. in the Edgar McCann conference Room. The Southbridge Town Hall is handicapped accessible.

The Commission is charged with the responsibility of administering the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act, amended to include the Rivers Protection Act, MGL 131 section 40. Proposed projects within 100 feet of a wetland or 200 feet of a perennial stream must be reviewed by the Commission. Application packages are available at the Office of Planning and Development, located in GAR Hall at the Town Hall, 41 Elm Street, Southbridge. Appropriate forms can also be obtained from

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Karen Loin Administrative Assistant 508-764-5402
Eric Rumsey Town Planner & Conservation Agent 508-764-5402

Conservation Commission

Name Title
Ken Pickren Chair
Maureen Doyle Vice Chair
Wendell Barthelmes
Natasha Nowick
Martin Peterson
Michelle Reese